Senorita Stressypants.

If you know me you know that stress is my middle name. I’m neurotic and a chronic worrier about pretty much everything. This semester, and for pretty much the first time, my worries weren’t about something trivial. I was giving myself panic attacks over my GPA for this semester because it was sitting cumulatively at a 3.04 when I needed a 3.0 to apply for studying abroad.

I was going insane because I was so sure I was going to get a C in my brit lit class because our professor was a psycho, I thought I was going to miss out on an A in nutrition by a tiny number of points, and I was sitting frighteningly close to a C in polysci because of these stupid workbook pages we had to do. I was banking on a B in accounting and an A in preinternship.

The brit lit final was rough. She gave us our prompts for our 3 essays on a Tuesday and set the due date for that Friday (her name was creatively and thoroughly cursed by yours truly). If you follow me on twitter then you got to witness my stress firsthand. If you don’t, it’s probably for the best. The night was not pretty to say the least. I was in the library until the wee hours and there were more tears involved than I would like to admit to. Alas, I finished it and my brain was (mostly) still intact. I even managed to turn it in to our professor without yelling at her for an awful semester! Then, it was time to wait.

During finals week I managed the exact number of points I needed to get an A in nutrition, got an A on my polysci final which was exactly what I needed to get a B,  and a 95 on my preinternship final which secured my A. Accounting was my last and the one that I was most worried about. I studied my butt off and felt pretty good about it when it was over but Senorita Stressypants mode kicked in and I was sure that I got every single question wrong.

So, when grades went up last night the first one on the list was brit lit. I MANAGED A B BY THE GRACE OF GOD! I honestly don’t know how it happened. Maybe she could see the tear stains on my paper and felt pity for me? I don’t know. But I’ll take it. A pity B and a real B carry the same weight for my GPA. I also got a freaking A in accounting!!!!! I was on the phone with my parents when I saw that one and I’m so glad I was because my reaction was priceless, apparently. So for an entire semester of stressing myself out more than ever before, I get rewarded with a 3.5 for the semester and a 3.17 overall.

Now, I can actually focus on my Surrey application without worrying about my GPA standing in way of getting accepted. Prayers please!

About Abby McLaughlin

19 year old Hospitality Management student at the University of North Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

