Tomato Face

I love public speaking. I would much rather give any sort of presentation than write a paper or take a test because I feel like I get my ideas across much better when I hear myself saying them out loud than any other way. There’s just one problem; I have a tomato face. If you’re not familiar with the term allow me to explain. No matter whether I’m hot or cold, nervous, embarrassed, happy, sad, pissed off, whatever, my face turns bright red. It’s not even normal blushing. This is like blushing’s evil, vindictive twin sister. It doesn’t just happen when I’m giving a presentation either. If I see someone somewhere that I wasn’t expecting to see them or it’s someone that I don’t see very often Tomato Face rears her ugly head.

So ladies and gentleman, in case you were wondering, making comments about the appearance of good ole Tomato Face is just in bad taste. Commenting on it makes it infinitely worse which a lot of you think is funny but; honestly, it just makes me want to throw red paint on you so that you see how it feels to be bright red all the time.

About Abby McLaughlin

19 year old Hospitality Management student at the University of North Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomato Face

  1. lara says:

    I am the total opposite of you- I hate public speaking! I am challenging myself with it though and I submitted an abstract to a conference to discuss a paper I wrote (I love writing papers!).

    I also don’t like it when people make fun of others when they are speaking. Boo on them.

    Lara M.

Leave a Reply

